The three-T20 series, which has international status, begins on September 12, with the next two matches to be played on September 13 and 15. All three matches will be held in Lahore. A one-off T20 against Sri Lanka in Lahore is in the works, followed by a three-T20 series against West Indies in November.

Pakistan team for matches against World XI

Pakistan squad
Sarfraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Amir, Ruman Raees, Usman Khan, Sohail Khan.

Fast bowler Sohail Khan, who last played a T20 international in September 2011, has been recalled to the Pakistan squad for the three-T20I series against World XI, which will be led by Faf du Plessis. Mohammad Hafeez, Kamran Akmal and Wahab Riaz, who were all part of Pakistan’s last T20 series in the Caribbean in March and April, have been dropped. Instead, allrounders Faheem Ashraf, who was part of Pakistan’s Champions Trophy-winning squad, and Aamer Yamin, and batsman Umar Amin were picked.